snort sniffle sneeze….no Antibiotics please…. I saw this at the back of a transport bus in Shuwaikh.  I wasn’t able to snap a photo, because I was driving. It must be a campaign by the Ministry of Health, I figure the pharmaceutical companies don’t get any mileage out of a campaign like that.

It had me thinking and I didn’t waste much time googling the phrase and found out that Antibiotics do not help when you have a cold or flu or viral infections…because they fight only bacteria not viruses. Moreover, these germs also develop a resistance to antibiotics, thereby lasting longer and infecting more. Studies have shown that Kuwait’s resistance patterns were second only to China, in a study carried out in China, Kuwait and the USA, on antibiotic resistance patterns.  I guess that would be enough to spur a campaign of this sort…

Click here for more information about antibiotics and resistance to their effect.